The Legacy O’Neil, Chapter 1.2: In Which Everyone is Stressed

03-02-17_4-11-34 PM

 

Last time we left you all with Solstice just being born, and now we are starting with the last image of Solstice as a baby I have for you.

…Look baby’s are REALLY creepy looking in this game ok. I have seen like, one cute baby and I am not entirely convinced that wasn’t just luck of lighting.

“Ignore the Watcher, sweetie, you are too adorable! You take just after me.”

Yeaaaaahh…. I miss sims 2 babies. They were the best. Sims 3 babies were ok.

03-02-17_4-27-33 PM

Meanwhile I got to send Evelyn out to do some money-making chores!

“EEEEE, outdoors! Rocks n’ FISHIN’!”

I swear she makes the cutest excited faces.

03-02-17_4-34-24 PM

“Lookit ’em! Such a teensy little guy, innit he?”

I love the catch-fish animation, not gonna lie. Also for those wondering about Ev’s accent- I picture it like a mash up of people I used to know in Minnesota when I was a kid, and Doctor Neil MacNeill from the show Christy, for those of you who are as old and decrepit as I am. I don’t know HOW my brain settled on that accent, but it did.

03-02-17_4-41-32 PM

Of course, the baby days were soon done and Solstice grew up to be a absolutely adorable toddler, and we had the first age-up of this legacy.

03-02-17_4-41-44 PM

“Honey, I was right- She DOES look more like me! Now- oopsy-daisy, time to teach you your first steps!”

03-02-17_4-41-59 PM

“Awwww, I know it seems scary, but you can do it! Come on, come to mommy!”
Solstice looked up with wide eyes, her brows knitting together for a second before she took a wobbly step forward.

03-02-17_4-42-10 PM

“Come on, you can do it! You’re a champ, just like me!”
“Ba-bbbpppa!” She lurched forward a couple more steps, before gaining momentum and falling into Summer’s arms with a wide grin.

03-02-17_4-42-31 PM

With a  laugh, Summer scooped her up and spun her into the air. “That’s my girl! Now, let’s get you changed!”

03-02-17_4-46-54 PM

Solstice O’Neil is a very cute toddler, who I THINK favors Summer a tad, though it’s hard to tell with toddlers? I think that’s Summer’s chin and mouth shape, and maybe nose. She seems to have a blend of their skin’s though, closer to Summer’s paleness but matching Evelyn’s base tone a bit more. Also, Evelyn’s eye color! Whoo!

Aaaand she rolled the toddler trait of ‘fussy’. This… should be fun.

03-02-17_4-53-54 PM

“And that was how the fox outran the mean old hunter, and got all the food for his little kits! And they lived happily ever after.”

I just love this interaction. Like, I had about 25 or so pictures that was just of them reading to Solstice. It’s just SO CUTE.

However the outdoors with no lights was a bit too much for the little one, so I quickly found out that toddlers without proper nightlights or, you know, rooms, tended to have nightmares.

A lot.

03-02-17_4-56-32 PM

“Awww, the little one is wakin’ us up! Poor thing.”

“Ugh, Evelyn sweetie, can you handle it? I have a big game tomorrow-”

“Oh no problem!”

03-02-17_4-58-14 PM

(break my heart why don’t you, ow, make me feel guilty about spending money on skilling objects rather than on a house.)

03-02-17_4-57-09 PM

“Now now, no need for that! It’s a beautiful night with crisp clean air, come on now!” With that, Evelyn scooped up Solstice and trotted her around, bouncing the toddler on her hip. “Now, what is it that ya’ need?”

Solstice’s brow furrowed for a second, sniffling a bit through teary eyes. She made some sounds, and gestured over to the potty.

“Ah, all right then! Let’s just get you all settled.”

03-02-17_4-59-20 PM

“There ya go, right under the lovely night sky! You know- there are about a million different stars lookin’ down on you right now, so you never gotta worry. Heck, you see that one constellation over there-”

Evelyn, I’m pretty sure she doesn’t get half of what you’re saying.

“Shhhh, I’m tryin’ to teach her valuable life lessons here! Darned if any of my kids don’t love the outdoors!”

03-02-17_5-03-13 PM

It was sunrise by the time we were able to get Solstice (who by this time had her fussy trait in FULL swing) back to bed, and Evelyn picked out the story about Dinosaurs.

03-02-17_5-08-51 PM

And then promptly tested for some fun she and Summer had had the night before.

“Uh, hrm. I feel like we didn’t completely think this one through.”

03-02-17_5-09-11 PM

“Hey Summer, guess what? I’m pregnant again!”

“What- but- I mean I know we tried, but practice! And close in age, but- no house! Oh no-”

03-02-17_5-09-24 PM

“Wait no, I’m fine! I’m totally good. This is amazing! More kids will be great, and we almost have enough to afford a house, we’ll be absolutely fine.”

“How come I’m not entirely believin’ ya?”

Shhhhh let her pretend.

03-02-17_5-18-31 PM

It was at this point we were ALL regretting the choice to have the first gen close in age, however.

I feel like this is the theme for this chapter. Just. All the motive fails and looks of misery and thinly disguised panic.

03-02-17_5-21-12 PM

However, as a dutiful mother, Summer scooped Solstice out of her highchair and plopped her down to bed, giving her a kiss on her forward.

“Night night, sweetie! Now mommy needs to stumble over to her bed and try not to keep you all up with her whimpering!”

Ok I get it I am horrible at managing things, no need to guilt me even more, jeesh.

03-02-17_5-21-29 PM

Of course, a little toddler decided she didn’t quite LIKE the bed. Nope…

03-02-17_5-21-59 PM

She wanted to sleep on the FLOOR.

Sigh.

“I feel like I should do something but-”

You’re about to motive fail on energy, get thee to bed. I’ll take care of the toddler.

“Oh thank plumbbob.”

03-02-17_5-28-11 PM

“Now, what are ya doin’ on the ground, silly? Let mama put you back to bed. Now, if you want to sleep on the ground in the future that’s alright, but you’ll probably be wantin’ to grab a sleeping bag, that’s good for takin’ a nap outdoors!”

03-02-17_5-28-25 PM

“Nighty-night, sweetie! And don’t let the bedbugs bite!”

03-02-17_5-33-51 PM

Since the toddler could be left with daycare for free, though, I decided to send out the ladies for a trip to the park before the next child comes and we are swamped for time.

Of course, this meant fishing for Ev….

03-02-17_5-35-42 PM

And Summer gathering a crowd of people around her she could convince into becoming her friends at some point.

“The last game was incredibly rough! It was down to the ninth, but the Llamacorns knew they had it- Sunny-Eyed Susan had that ball right where she wanted it, and took the shot- and it missed! But we knew if we could just get it to go into overtime…”

03-02-17_5-56-51 PM

After getting back home, however, someone needed a bath.

“Alright, scrubby-dub-dub! Time to get outta the tub, hee-hee!”

Solstice giggled, before tumbling out as Evelyn helped her get dressed. “Ma-ma, ba!”

“Yes, mama is helpin’ ya out! Now sush, let me get this done…”

03-02-17_5-58-19 PM

“Oof, the lil’ one is kickin’ up a storm today. You’d think they were a centaur!”

“Ma-ma BIG.”

“Oh-ho-ho, is that so?”

03-02-17_5-58-59 PM

With a chuckle Evelyn scooped Solstice up. “Big, am I now?”

“Big-uh!” Solstice said, a giggle breaking free as Evelyn playfully jostled her about.

“Well, be that as it may, it’s time for you to eat.”

03-02-17_5-59-12 PM

“Dun like chair.” Solstice sniffled as Evelyn plopped her down.

“Well, the chair liked you and I like the chair, so we’re all else havin’ a good old time over here! Now hold on as mama gets ya some food.”

03-02-17_6-00-56 PM

“Ma-ma, sisss or bwuda like?”

“Hhmmm? Oh, you’re sister or brother? I’m sure they’ll like the chair!”

03-02-17_6-01-39 PM

“NO! Like SOLSTICE!”

“Ah, well I don’t see why not. You are VERY likeable.”

03-02-17_6-01-51 PM

Solstice giggled, before nodding, deciding the moment settled.

“Now, eat your PBJ sweetie, mama’s gotta go to work soon!”

03-02-17_6-02-26 PM

“How’s it going over here?” Summer asked, sounding clogged up as she tried very hard not to itch.

“Oh, we’ve settled into a lovely little club! It’s me, the chair, and Solstice and whoever the new sibling would be, would ya like to join? Very exclusive, but I think we’re goin’ places.”

03-02-17_6-03-53 PM

Poor Summer, I felt so bad for her. My first sick sim and she was so pathetic with it, but dutifully trained for her promotion that we sorely, SORELY need the money for.

“Must… not… have children…. on desert lawn… with scorpions…”

03-02-17_6-08-56 PM

In fact, they were all champs about it, taking naps in between passing off the toddler between them, trotting off to work hard and deplete their fun meters to nothing…

03-02-17_6-09-35 PM

…AND THE MASCOT COSTUME IS AMAZING.

Just. Just had to note that.

But that cannot be fun to wear in a desert environment.

“How do you think I feel, sick, in here?”

Ouch.

03-02-17_6-11-41 PM

That evening they both came home with a promotion, and just in time as their little one caught whatever was going around- this time the STRIPEY version.

“I’ma tigah, RAWR.”

And this point we all decided…

03-02-17_6-21-30 PM

Time for the first official legacy one-room-shack! Well, technically two rooms as I cordoned off the bathroom, but still.

03-02-17_6-24-06 PM

….not that it helped the adults much in dealing with exhaustion.

“Mama tired.”

Yes, yes she is.

“Shhhh, night-night.”

And as soon as she got up-

03-02-17_6-28-23 PM

It was go time.

“Oh my plumbob- ok, I’m here this time! Are you ok? Should someone have stayed home with Solstice? Do you need ice, I heard women giving birth need ice for some reason, do I-”

“I’m goin’ to check in, you take a breather for a moment.”

03-02-17_6-28-46 PM

“Ok- ok I’m fine! This is good. Baby number two is on the way, I’ll just-”

03-02-17_6-29-00 PM

Do a couple push ups before the baby comes?

“IT’S STRESS RELIEF OK?”

03-02-17_6-29-19 PM

“Hey, Evelyn O’Neil checkin’ in for baby number two! Hee, so, ready to take me on back?”

“Hold on a moment… ah yes, the doctor will see you now.”

03-02-17_6-31-39 PM

“Alright, so, things have been going smoothly! This is good, I’m so excited to see my new son or daughter, and Evelyn is doing wonderful. I’m so proud of her.”

“Uh, hm, that’s odd.”

“WHAT’S ODD?”

“Shh, Summer sweetie, a lil’ quiet- but uh, Oooiwwww- aHEM. What’s odd?”

03-02-17_6-32-46 PM

“Oh- oh no! I mean, yay? I mean, oh no, Watcher???”

I DID NOT PLAN FOR THIS OK.

03-02-17_6-32-51 PM

“What exactly are y’all panickin’ about now?”

03-02-17_6-39-18 PM

Well, at least YOU Look happy.

“Baby! Baby two!”

I think you mean…

03-02-17_6-39-52 PM

“I gots sisters!”

Yep. Twins. Two babies.

Hahahahaha.

03-02-17_6-40-45 PM

II’ll leave you this time with the twins, Terra (named after earth in general and a satellite) the first born, and Titania (the name I desperately scrambled for when I realized HOLY SHIT, TWINS, so she gets the name of a nature fairy from Shakespeare and a moon), the surprise.

Welp, this will be fun!

Leave a comment